Tennessee Valley Chapter
of the North American Butterfly Association
Snowberry Clearwing Painted Lady Pipevine Swallowtail Dark phase female Eastern Tiger Swallowtail Viceroy Gray Hairstreak Common Wood-Nymph Broad-winged Skipper Black Swallowtail
Local Butterfly Counts

NABA sponsors almost 500 butterfly counts across the United States, Canada and northern Mexico each year. Volunteers count all butterfly species and individuals during a one-day period within a 15 mile diameter circle. The results are then published by NABA. These counts are critical in monitoring butterfly population trends, seasonality and ranges.

Several Fourth of July and Seasonal counts are conducted within a 50 mile radius of Chattanooga, Tennessee by Tennessee Valley NABA members and other interested people. NABA counts are a wonderful opportunity for "citizen science". Check the latest newsletter for information about where and when to meet for any of these.

Tennessee River Gorge, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Spring Seasonal
Lookout Mountain, GA
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, April 14, 2018
Spring Seasonal (or fallback for other spring counts)
Soddy-Daisy, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Friday, May 4, 2018
Spring Seasonal
Tennessee River Gorge, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, June 2, 2018
Soddy-Daisy, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, June 9, 2018
Willamsburg, KY
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, June 16, 2018
Lookout Mountain, GA
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Stevenson, AL
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Tennessee River Gorge, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, August 4, 2018
Fall Seasonal
Soddy-Daisy, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Fall Seasonal
Lookout Mountain, GA
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, August 25, 2018
Fall Seasonal